December 14, 2010

  • Rats

    The rats are so cute!  Frank is black and white and is the chunky one because he loves these little yogurt treats we feed them when they come out of the cage to play.  Chuck is beige and white and is the playful one who loves to run and explore and climb.  It makes me happy that they have already developed recognizable personalities!  They are still young, so they mostly just climb around and scamper about, but I think when they calm down a little they will happily just lay around with me on the couch.

    Surprisingly, they do not like the rat ball we got them.  The instant we put them inside, they shit and pee all over the thing.  In contrast, if we just let them run around on the floor they don’t shit at all.  I think they are frightened of the inside of the ball being so enclosed.  If we wanted them to use it, I think we would have had to never let them run around freely and only let them out of the cage to be in the ball, and I feel like that would be some kind of cruelty to animals.  I would much rather watch them run and play with one another outside the ball anyway.  Plus, only one of them can be in the ball at a time, so that leaves the other one lonely in the cage.  Maybe some animals like running around in the balls, but not our little rats.

    Anyway, we love them so much and are so glad to have them around.  Their cage is really easy to clean and they don’t eat all that much, so if you are ever looking for an absolutely great pet without all the problems of larger pets, rats are totally wonderful!

    Women and Childbirth Timeline

    We’ve come to the decision that we have to set a timeline on this whole childbirth thing, especially if we want to have like three or four kids.  I want to get started in my mid to late twenties to avoid having any children when I’m over 35.  However, we also realize that if we think finding a mutual girlfriend is hard now it will only get a zillion times more complicated with children in the picture.  Consequently, we’ve discussed it and kind of decided that when I turn 26, regardless of whatever else is going on in our lives, we’re going to start trying for children.  We hope that we find a girl before then, and we hope that I’ll complete my PhD by then, but regardless of those things children are the most important thing to both of us.  We want to have children and raise them above all else, careers and relationships and all that.  It’s what gives meaning to both of our lives, honestly.

    And I got a phone number.  More to come.

Comments (1)

  • Aww yeahhhh

    teach me your phone number getting skills.

    Also yeah like we had two rats when I was a kid and we kept them in the cage and they took every opportunity they could to get lose. I don’t think they like being limited in their environment.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *