June 21, 2011

  • Holy shit, so I had an amazing day in the lab yesterday.  Everything that had been going wrong inexplicably suddenly worked perfectly!  I got the data I had been trying to get for a couple months!!

    My excitement faded quickly, however, when I realized how complicated and tedious data analysis was going to be.  Unfortunately, no one in the lab has developed any type of automated program for the kind of thing I’m doing, and while we have some helpful programs they still require a lot of user input to function.  Makes me wonder if trying to program something would actually save me any time realistically.  Well, since I’m no wizard at programming I think I might resign myself to using the programs we have and focus my creative efforts into my experiments.  That will probably produce better results in the end.

    Tomorrow morning I have to get up and get ready to go visit our lady friend in Chicago.  I’m really excited, but at the same time I know I have a lot of work to do, and I’m going to Canada on Sunday, AND I’m going to a wedding the weekend after I get back from Canada!  So much travel at such a crucial time in my research.  Who knew that I would just happen to get amazing data two days before my travel schedule goes haywire…

    At least my life is pretty awesome right now.  There’s always that.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *